Preserving Your Garden through the Winter Season

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lucy Foster is the official gardener for theHeadley-WhitneyMuseum. We have interviewed her so we can help you learn how to preserve your garden through the winter season. We have included a history of Lucy and of course some tips. Enjoy!

HWM: How did you get started?

LF: I worked for my dad at a bank. I hated it and wanted to quit but he told me that I wasn’t allowed to quit so he fired me and told me that I had to have a job by the end of the day. On my way home, I passed Al’s Garden Center so I stopped in just to see if they had any positions available. They did and I was hired. I was to start the very next day. My dad didn’t believe that I had found a job that quick so he called to confirm.

*Since then, Lucy has traveled to numerous states working for garden centers to build her reputation.  She landed back in Kentucky where she started her own landscaping business working for high end clients.

HWM: How did you end up at theHeadley-WhitneyMuseum?

LF: My husband was in Bolivia and the Lady I worked for at the time thought that I needed an extra job to keep my mind occupied.  She had connections to the Museum and that is how I came to work for the Headley-Whitney. I have been here for six season’s now.

HWM: What is your favorite part about your job?

LF: My favorite part of my job is digging in the dirt and preparing for weddings.

HWM: Tell us a little about getting the most out of your gardens.

LF: There are a couple of ways to do this:

Cut Flowers:

Perennials or Annuals with long stems.

  • Most of these you can dry.
  • Let sit for about a week
  • Create a beautiful arrangement that will last about a year

Bushes: Hydrangeas

  • Cut in fall
  • Let dry
  • Create numerous indoor decorations
    • Wreaths, Tree décor, Mantel décor

Plants: Preserve in winter for re-planting in the spring

  • Need sunlight
  • Need temperatures above 40 degrees

Saving seeds:

  • Snip and cut
  • Place heads in bag and store in a dark, dry, even tempered area
  • Re-plantable

Drying techniques:

  • Place in floral boxes
  • Spray paint
  • Microwave
  • Wrapped in silicone and placed in sealed container.

Lucy has a degree in Interior Design and is able to incorporate her eye for color and design in her gardening. Working with Lucy is truly a blessing and she is amazing at what she does.

We hope this segment was helpful and please feel free to comment if you have any questions or other ideas you would like to add.

About Headley Whitney Museum

We are a decorative arts museum located in the heart of the Bluegrass. Opened in 1968 by George Headley III, a noted jewelry designer from the mid-twentieth century. Our permanent collection includes the Marylou Whitney Estate dollhouses, Library, Jewel Room and galleries for temporary exhibitions.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

